Arjuna Award honors top athletes including Mohammed Shami and others

On January 9, 2024, 26 sportspersons received the Arjuna Award from the President of India Draupadi Murmu. The list mostly includes athletes from the Asian Games 2023, where India created history by winning more than 100 medals in a single edition of the event.

Only one cricketer, Mohammed Shami, was awarded the award after he finished as the leading wicket-taker of the World Cup 2023 when India lost to Australia in the final.

Shital Devi, the world’s first armless woman archer to win three medals at the Para Games in Hangzhou, is also part of the list.

Aishwarya Pratap Singh Tomar and Isha Singh, who helped India win 22 medals in shooting, also received the Arjuna Award. Naorem Roshibina Devi, who won a silver medal in Hangzhou, is also included in the list.

Ayhika Mukherjee, who won a bronze medal in women’s doubles with Sutirtha Mukherjee, is also part of the 26-member list. R Vaishali, 18-year-old Rameshbabu Praggnanand’s sister, was also included in the list.

Ms Aditi Gopichand SwamiArchery
Shri Ojas Pravin DeotaleArchery
Shri Sreeshankar MuraliAthletics
Ms Parul ChaudharyAthletics
Shri Mohameed HussamuddinBoxing
Ms R VaishaliChess
Shri Mohammed ShamiCricket
Shri Anush AgarwallaEquestrian
Ms Divyakriti SinghEquestrian Dressage
Ms Diksha DagarGolf
Shri Krishan Bahadur PathakHockey
Ms Pukhrambam Sushila ChanuHockey
Shri Pawan KumarKabaddi
Ms Ritu NegiKabaddi
Ms NasreenKho-Kho
Ms PinkiLawn Bowls
Shri Aishwary Pratap Singh TomarShooting
Ms Esha SinghShooting
Shri Harinder Pal Singh SandhuSquash
Ms Ayhika MukherjeeTable Tennis
Shri Sunil KumarWrestling
Ms Antim PanghalWrestling
Ms Naorem Roshibina DeviWushu
Ms Sheetal DeviPara Archery
Shri Illuri Ajay Kumar ReddyBlind Cricket
Para CanoeingMs Prachi Yadav
Share via:

Related Posts

Leave a Comment

Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Sarkari Diary WhatsApp Channel

Recent Posts